Product Review | Salomon X Max 90 Women’s Ski Boots

It is product review time and for this edition we have a guest reviewer Hannah. She has been using the Salomon X Max 90 boot since the beginning of the season while doing her second season in Zermatt, Switzerland.

What does Salomon say?

salomon-x-max-90-ski-boots-women-s-2016-softgreen-white-black-detail-1

Twinframe technology ensures that Xmax 90 W delivers superior transmission and power, with customized comfort for all day skiing. It has a women’s specific fit and customizable shell in the calf area for supreme comfort.

  • Weight: 3.4 kg
  • Flex Index: 90
  • Strap: 35
  • Width: 98/104mm

This boot is also available in two other flexes, 70 and 110. So if you were after the same fit but in something stiffer or softer then these boots give you other options.

 

What does Hannah say?

IMG_3927The Salomon X Max 90 is a fantastic boot for people wanting to become more advanced in their skiing. This is my first non-rental ski boot and I couldn’t be happier with the choice I made. I had the luxury of being able to switch and swap my boots whenever I wanted last season and I quickly came to favour Salomon boots. They were all instantly more comfortable than brands I had tried previously.IMG_3925

However, I was struggling with the width of the rental boots and was really looking for a narrower fitting boot. The great thing about the X Max for me, is that it is slim fitted with the capacity to match the shape of your foot even better with it’s moldable liner. I have definitely noticed the difference in my skiing, having a pair of boots that fit properly and feel more secure has allowed me to be more aggressive in my skiing and more confident to get on my edges.

IMG_3932I also really like the four buckles as opposed to the three-buckle design that gives the boot a more snug fit. I would definitely recommend these boots to anybody with a slightly narrow foot who is looking for a closer fit. If you are an intermediate skier, looking to improve, the flex allows you to have the support to push your skiing to the next level. I love them!

 

 

Leave a Reply

